Updating election polls

Posted by / 18-Oct-2019 10:46

Updating election polls

In Bhandara-Gondia, the BJP and the NCP have locked horns in the bypoll, being held after the resignation of BJP MP Nana Patole.

Patole, a leader of the powerful OBC Kunbi community, had switched side from the Congress to the BJP and was elected as an MP from the constituency in Vidarbha in 2014 by defeating former union minister and NCP heavyweight Praful Patel.

EVM glitches have been reported in Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra and Kerala amid voting for crucial by-elections.

At least, 11 EVM malfunction have been reported in Maharashtra's Gondia-Bhandara constituency.

Voting at three polling stations in Uttar Pradesh's Kairana could not be started yet due to the unavailability of EVM machines.

Voters, in large numbers, have been waiting for it in the queue.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress will get another chance to do battle, along with other national and regional parties as bypolls to 10 Assembly constituencies and four Lok Sabha seats across 10 states are set to take place on Monday.

Apart from Kairana in Uttar Pradesh, parliamentary bypolls will be held on Monday for Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya in Maharashtra and to the Nagaland seat.

Former Union minister Praful Patel claimed that almost 25 percent of EVMs malfunctioned in the bypoll to Bhandara-Gondiya seat, while Sena leader Sanjay Raut said those in power were contesting elections while keeping the "key and remote of EVMs in their hands".

Register to vote or update your current registration at

By-elections 2018 latest updates: A high turnout was recorded in bypolls to Jharkhand's Silli and Gomia Assembly constituencies, officials said.

Meanwhile, voting is also underway in Gomia, Shahkot, Chengannur and Palghar.

Voting has begun in Uttar Pradesh's Kairana Lok Sabha seat, Noorpur Assembly seat and West Bengal's Maheshtala Assembly constituency.

updating election polls-20updating election polls-90updating election polls-16

As per EC, 12 contestants are in fray for the Kairana Lok Sabha bypolls out of which three are women while 10 persons are contesting in the Noorpur Assembly bypolls. The Election Commission said that they have deployed 53 companies of paramilitary forces, 10 companies of Provincial Armed Constabulary (PAC) in Kairana and Noorpur.